Doubling up

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie. Been looking in detail at forex for about 10 months.

Straightforward question: Is it possible to double up your initial capital in 1 year through slow and steady trading (ie. weekly and daily not 30min, 15min, 1min scalping) and only risking 2% on each position?

Is this possible/impossible, and if possible, is it easy, intermediate, or hard to achieve? How many have achieved this before, seriously?

Thanks!

Through use of compounding, quite easy, if you are a good trader and can execute a good method regularly. Make a spread sheet and put in your risk% and compound with every win. That will give you a better idea.

Newbie here as well…went from $2000 in an account to close to $3200. This is my 5th week of trading live. I would not say this was “easy” to achieve. Put in a lot of work with a demo account, developed a little system, and have put forth many hours of forex research.

ya its definitely possible. But like bama said, it takes lots of work. It took me 2 years of constant forex learning before I became consistent and doubled my money.

You can too, you just need a devotion to this line of business.

I am aware of compounding, but as soon as there are losses involved, it pushes out the P vs. time graph way out along the time axis. I guess, my question should be reworded: is it reasonable to expect to double up in one year with proper MM, a good strategy, and without gambling on huge leverage and getting lucky on one or two trades?

Yes, i’ve managed to demo trade with similar results, got up to 157% in two months but I lost it again went down to 120% after another month. I am planning to go live soon and I want to have realistic expectations.

I know experienced traders always say you shouldn’t focus on the money only method and execution, but seriously, who can say that it isn’t important! :wink: