Doubt about stop loss and wait until profit

Hi guys,

First, I’m sorry if this is a stupid question. I’m a beginner in the forex and I did not find a good answer (for dummies) to this question in the forum.

Let’s imagine that I bought some EURUSD. From what I understand, the “Stop loss” is for limit the loss if the pair value falls until some point. My question is: Why I don’t just wait until the pair value rises to sell it and profit?

Thanks for all,
Cheers,

Multiple reasons, the most basic ones being you’d be margin called at some point and the money can be used somewhere else. Ex: If you have 1 lot tied up in EUR/USD loss for a few months, that’s money you could have traded with (and presumably profited from) but now it’s just sitting around.

In theory it would work but you’d need an insane amount of money to pull it off as some trades could be in a loss for years. If it were that easy, surely everyone would be using this strategy as you would never lose. Basically, don’t try this. It doesn’t end well.

1 Like

I would say it depends on how long you are willing to wait and what type of trader you are. if you consider a few hours or days an acceptable wait for the market to turn, then do so.

The basic reason is money would be used somewhere but you are pointing you margin some other where. Otherwise there were also many reason existing. In live forex trading you will not apply the theories all the time. But in practical you will need insane amount of money to recover the loss for each year. Also as a new trader you must try demo trading first couple of months. Otherwise in every single step of trading you will get confusion.