EA Moving Average Cross

Hi there,

I have a simple EA to open a position when they cross and close the position when they cross again or TP/SL but that’s half of what I am trying to achieve.

This is a EA request for the above BUT also open an opposing position when a position is closed. For example: fast ma crosses below slow ma to open a sell position, the fast ma then crosses above slow ma to close the sell position and open a buy position.

Does anyone have an EA for the above or similar. Any input is appreciated.

1 Like

MA crossover systems like this have been shown many times over the years to not work. So maybe you have some other modification or tactic which makes your approach more effective?

1 Like

I want to attempt to use this system in addition to price action and other indicators.

1 Like

Fair enough. I’m being genuine when I say even running a failing system teaches something useful.

2 Likes

Very true! I’m still learning tbh. I’m starting to believe that the obvious indicators = easy pickings for the banks. So I may change my strat as a whole.

1 Like

I don’t have this EA, but it’s very easy to write. Why don’t you have a go. Most of it can be done by watching a few youtube videos and copying the relevant bits. I doubt it would take much more than an hour to write

1 Like

I have used and backtested various MA crossover systems and they work pretty badly. There must be an additional element to make them work more effectively. That element is not writing an EA - the system works equally badly whether its manual or EA-driven. Its the additional element I’m interested in, as nobody else yet claims to have identified it.

1 Like

@tommor, They do work… when used as a hybrid… ie: So, when the MA1 (Price) crosses over say the MA200 (up or down) and the last candle (or two, or three) has closed below/above the 200, you activate the EA to close the position at a preset TP or when it cross back over again and the EA is to stop.