ECN vs STP/NDD Broker

Are ECN brokers better in every way over STP/NDD brokers?

I ask because I read an article that said “Market Execution” (which I think is ECN) cannot enter TP and SL amounts during the entry of the trade (this includes EA’s). The article said that a TP or SL can only be entered AFTER the position has been established.

Is this true?

Currently I use an EA that I wrote to trade with. That EA sets the TP when the trade is entered. I’m a swing trader and hold until TP is achieved so the SL is not an issue for me. But my EA will have to be recoded if I switched to an ECN broker and the above is true.

Also… Are there ANY other pros or cons to ECN over STP/NDD? I’ve read around that spreads are thinner with ECN but I have not seen it personally. I’ve noticed that spreads (on Indicies anyway) seem to be about the same – .50 for SP500.

FYI – I only trade index products, so if you could apply your answers to Index CFD’s instead of pairs, I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

i’m with pepperstone
i trade US2000 Primarily

You can modify T/P and S/L after you enter and during the trade .
the spreads are usually close to 0 pips on Indexes

Hope that helps

Thanks @anon81929759, so you are saying that the text entry fields for TP and SL are not greyed out when entering a trade?

That’s great to know! Thank you.

that’s correct
they are always there.
the only time they are greyed out is …

When you enter , say into a BUY position,
at a price of 1.0040
and say you want to put your take profit at 1.0000
well then… it will be greyed out because you are in a BUY trade

but other than that, it’s always there

STP - Straight Through Processing