EUR/JPY position is very high

Hi I am new to trading just need some help and advice

In this situation should we buy or should we well ?

There is no definitive answer to that as any good trader should always have solid reasons to place a trade - it is important, in my view, to trade what you see, not what you think. So if a pair is in a strong uptrend, personally I would never look to short that pair purely because the current price is at a level that surprises me. Many pairs have hit all-time highs or lows during the current economic crisis, so extremes do happen. You could easiily lose half a dozen trades or even many more trying to pick the reversal based on level rather than a clear reversal signal, then the eventual trade would need to be enormously successful just to break even on your analysis of that move.

Many of the JPY pairs have given a concerted uptrend recently. I agree that it is eyecatching, but personally I am looking for reasons to go long until I get a clear sign of a reversal. Even with a losing trade at the end, having traded a pair for a good portion of the uptrend, a trader can be well ahead on their analysis of an overall move. Whereas picking the end and trying to get into that can get expensive without a clear signal.

For instance, I took a CHF/JPY trade overnight (I looked at EUR/JPY but preferred CHF last night). I placed an order, was triggered in just after 0400 today (UK), and price hit my TP half an hour ago while I was in the school run. To do that, price had to move higher than it has for just over six months, yet it did, and I was happy to go long. The trend is your friend until the bend at the end!