Experimenting with making my own EA -- need advice troubleshooting!

Hi!

So I’m quite new to Forex trading in general but have some experience from trading cryptos in the past, and have a bit of experience coding – thought it’d be fun to play around with MQL4 and try coding my own EA and see what kind of back-testing results I can achieve. Mainly as a way to keep my “coding skills” honed and also to learn more about Forex trading – possibly with the intention to try my luck at live trading someday.

Using some ideas I’ve gathered from a few sources (plus some ideas of my own and a lot of tweaking) I’ve put together a working EA based on 1m chart / scalping strategies. When I say “working” all I mean is it runs around 4000-5000 trades in about 1 years worth of back testing – though not at all profitable at this point.

The issue I’m coming up against is that while I’m getting a very high percentage of profitable trades (80%+), the few non-profitable trades I’m getting are very big losses by comparison to the profit trades.

For example looking at my latest back-test report, the average profit made per trade is 6.88, while the average loss per trade is -39.73, many of the loss trades are between -200 to -300. Now the weird thing is, and that’s what I need help with, I’ve got stop losses in place which are supposed to keep it from going anywhere near those amounts in losses… I’ve tried a few different methods of SL, including trailing SL, static SL, and have even tried adding in a OrderClose based on a fixed negative profit amount per trade – just to see what it does… in which case it brings down the loss trade amounts somewhat (though not to what I’m specifying in code) but increases the total loss trades and reduces the profit trades enough that there’s no difference in the final P/L outcome.