Explain this to me please

Hello!
I’m fairly new at forex. One thing I’ve been wondering about, is why so many brokers are dishonest and are trying to make their clients loose money, using dirty methods like “stop hunting” etc…

My idea of how the broker makes money, is that either the broker takes out a commission on each trade, or they make money on the spread, so it doesn’t really matter to the broker if you win or loose on your trades…

Hope someone can explain this to me.

The number of brokers screwing their customers is far fewer than you might have come to believe by listening to what’s said online.

I understand that some people tends to become a bit paranoid about this issue. Maybe it’s a convenient way to blame your bad trades on the evil broker that’s conspiring against you? I dunno, I don’t have insight into what’s happening behind the scenes of the broker house.

My question remains. What I want to know: Is there a real disadvantage for the brokers when their customers are making money? As far as I understand, they will be making money either way on the spread, and would have no reason to screw you over.

Everything makes sence if you can imagine that the brokers are closed organisations that takes money from their new customers when they open accounts, put those money in something like local bank, and whenever someone wins money they have to get money from their precious bank and give it to him. No one likes to give away money. And such organisation can exists only if losers are more than winners, otherwise the broker’s local bank starts to lose money and finally the broker bankrupt.

I have to say that I don’t know how brokers works (but who knows really?) and this is only my assumption that may not be true. But sounds reasonable to me :slight_smile: