Finished reading babypips - got some questions

Hi everyone,

so I just finished reading babypips and some other stuff and have some questions now.

1. Does one monitor suffice for trading or do you need two or more?
  2. For carry trading: Lets say I sell USDJPY, there is an interest rate difference of -5,00%. Let’s assume I sell 1 Lot (100.000 dollars, right) and the price doesn’t move, do I loose 5000 Dollars (100.000*0,05) due to the interest difference?
  3. I know this question has been discussed excessively, but what is a good amount to start trading forex. Why do the babypips guys recommend trading with 50-100.000 Dollars or is the leverage already included in this amount (500-1000 Dollar Margin)?

As you can see I am pretty new to the topic and it would be cool if someone answered. I am going to post further questions in this thread as well, so this is my official Forex Newbie Thread.

Yours, Christian

1. No need to add monitors. When you begin, you should be concentrating on longer time frames not intraday noise. It is possible to trade without a computer.

2. Interest is calculated on a daily basis by most dealers. Here’s an online calculator I ran across: Interest rates - Mataf.net (I’m not promoting this or any other site, sponsor, calculator manufacturer, cereal, etc… :smiley: )

3. Just about once a month someone poses a similar question. IMO, for real money traders: Not matter what dollar size you begin with, it should be a tiny percentage of your overall investment portfolio. No matter what size account you open, you need to observe tight money management rules. Always guard your capital. Concentrate on reading prices and market action correctly, not on your daily pip count. Never risk more than you can afford to lose - don’t bet the rent money. :wink:

well i�ll answere to your last question