Forex as a career

Hello,
I am a college student with a great interest in foreign exchange trading. I am very interested in learning what career opportunities exist in this area. Do most Forex traders work for a broker or firm, or are they more often self-employed, trading their own money?

Also, what is the ideal education to prepare oneself for a career in Forex? I am majoring in Finance and minoring in International Business & Trade. These are my passions. I work hard in my studies and maintain a 4.0/4.0 gpa. I will go as far in my education as it takes to help me be successful in this field. Are there any advanced degrees or programs designed for Forex traders?

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

-Marla

Most likely you’ll find the position you are seeking at a large international bank, broker or hedge fund.

By why work for someone else when you can trade?

Thank you for your reply. I would prefer to trade for myself, but I gather it is difficult to make a living at this unless one has a very large amount of capital to invest. Is that true?

It’s relative.

Say you want to make $100 a day.

Trade 1 mini lot and you’ll need to make 100 pips.

Trade 10 mini lots and you’ll need to make 10 pips.

Trade 100 mini lots and you’ll need to make 1 pip.

Start with trading 1 minilot.

If you are good at trading ( picking ONE trade a day that nets 4 - 5 pips ), then you’ll have the capital to make $100 / pip in a few months.

Remember the cycle of trading:

1. waiting,
  2. entry ( 1 or 2 seconds ),
  3. holding ( more waiting ),
  4. exit ( 1 or 2 seconds ),
  5. back to 1.

My goal is 2% increase a week. I have been trading for nearly two years. It is only now that my equity curve goes mostly in the positive directions. So for now I would just worry about practicing and getting better. I am positive that I will be independently wealthy by age 30 and be able to quit my career and just trade :slight_smile: