Forex broker with no maker fees

Hi all,
I am completely new to forex. I am actually doing algorithmic trading crypto in Binance, and I am interested in apply one of my strategy in forex. My strategy absolutely needs to have NO FEES to be effective, because the gains are low.

My strategy only uses limit orders (maker), and in Binance I can make these trades with no commission.

I am trying to understand how Forex brokers fees work, but I find it confusing. I see that they normally earn money putting an artificially high spread. But the spread only affects the takers (market orders), am I correct?
So in theory if I only trade with limit orders I don’t pay any fees, am I wrong?
If yes, in which brokers?

Thanks a lot,

Marco

1 Like

No… and yes.

So when you enter a trade with a limit order, you don’t know if you got the best price from the (Binance) broker. For example you may have decided to short the GBPUSD with a limit order of 1.3300. Binance fills your order at 1.3300 but how do you know what their supply side price was? 1.3299, or 1.3200? In a fast moving market, you could end up paying 100 x a fixed spread.

Same when you exit the trade. Let’s say you set a limit buy order to exit the above trade at “1.3400 or above”. So Binance fills your order at 1.3400 and you take your 101 PIP gain, but how do you know the price that Binance got from their Tier 1 market maker? Was it 1.3401 or was it 1.3450? Now you don’t know their spread, so they can trade with you “at no cost to you”. Does that explain how not paying any fees works?