Forex by any other name

anybody that does this full time, or at least claims this as their profession… what do you tell people your title is? Day Trader, Currency Trader? or some analogy to another profession… “kind of like a Broker/Wall Street Trader”?

• I’m sure this is probably discussed somewhere else but I didn’t see it in a search

Hi dru-zod,

This is a great question! So I am a full time day trader and have been for a few years. However, i dont tell anyone that I’m a day trader and certainly dont tell them how I pay my bills. I have a degree so I say I am a locum, which is like a contractor so I work depending on vacant shifts.

The reason I do this is because when I first started out and explained what I was doing, a lot of people tried to talk me out of it and were generally negative because of the negative connotation of wall street/ brokers /bankers. Second, it’s hard to explain what I’m doing as most people dont understand it. They think its gambling/ risky/ waste of time/ doesnt work etc. It took longer to explain what I do, so its easier to say I work in my degree. Lastly, family and friends all thought I was wasting my time and stupid to be doing anything else other than work from my degree. They do not understand why after studying I would change careers.

I learnt very early on, that this is my life and I only have 1. So better do what I want so I have no regrets. I have to pay my own bills, I have to invest for my retirement, no one will do it for me.

2 Likes

its a very good reply you have done, thanks for your nice post.

Most people, in my experience, just say they’re traders and/or forex traders.

Personally, I love to say “I’m a stock, commodity and currency investor”. I prefer to call myself an Investor instead of a trader.

Doubt you would get a mortgage if you say you trade lol

It doesn’t matter what you call yourself. The most important question is: "Are you a profitable trader?"