Forex Newbie struggling with a concept

I’m struggling with a core issue in Forex.

In one of Jack Schwager’s books on trading legends, he interviews legendary trader Ed Seykota. He may be the greatest trader ever. He was one of the first to computerize his trading decisions using IBM punch cards. Although I read this book over 10 years ago, there are two things Seykota said that I will never forget:

[I]If you can’t reduce your system to an algorithm, you don’t have a system.
The best way to make money in trading is to get the right person to do it for you.[/I]

From this I see that most systems are really part algorithm (recipe) and part art. We see this in other fields like cooking, wine making, and artistic painting. You can give them all the same ingredients and instructions and you get very different results.

Is anyone really making profits over the longer term using pure algorithms? I think they are. I am new to Forex. I have a strong math background and I have traded stocks and commodities. I study Forex material for about 3 hours per day. No matter how much I learn, can I ever be as good and consistent as a proven signal provider?

As an example, I reviewed the signals from foresignals.com. All of their signals are public. Subscribers get them 15 minutes sooner. I don’t think their past performance data is fraudulent because that would be revealed too easily. Look at their track record. I don’t believe in being ignorant of the market and just executing the other guy’s trade. Does any newbie realistically aspire to do better than this? Do you need to do better than this to make acceptable profits? If I am in search for the Holy Grail of algorithms, Seykota is right. I should get someone else to do it for me. But if I am in search of some other decision-making methodology that can’t be coded, then I can’t call it a system. In fact, it more resembles religion that must be believed instead of understood. What am I missing here?