Forex Profit Questions

Hello everyone, forex noob here, have some questions :

how is profit made in forex, even though changes are merely in decimal values 0.xx… ?

realistically, how much capital is needed to start trading ?

is there a way other than metatrader, it’s very hard for me to learn as just starting out, need something like web based platform with an intuitive design or something like that.

Through leverage.

You’ll need to read the lessons here, and maybe a book or two as well, to understand how this works.

It’s possible to start with as little as about $50, but if you trade with a small account, don’t look at it as a way to make money.

Very, very few new traders manage to make profits, and almost none make more than 5% per month. Eventually, after years of practice.

So for every $1,000 in your account, you might be able to make $50 per month from it. Maybe even a little more. If you end up in the small minority who become profitable.

#[quote=“tradercoat_54, post:1, topic:112095”]
is there a way other than metatrader, it’s very hard for me to learn as just starting out, need something like web based platform with an intuitive design or something like that.
[/quote]

I’d look at Oanda’s platform. They have two - Metatrader and a much easier one which is good, and as intuitive as any. That’s also a good place for a very small account. But you’re a long way from live trading for money at the moment. I hope.

2 Likes

yep a long way indeed, many thanks for the reply and the help, much appreciated.

I would recommend to go through the Babypips school so you can understand the basics. Even better to check it a few times while practicing on demo. As for the books, here you can find some good suggestions for the matter: Pipcrawler's Favorite Trading Books List of Best Forex Trading Books