Forget About Psychology - Get Present

I have been trading for 8+ years, I have tried everything there is to try in the forex field, I spent years trying to “work out” trading psychology and how I can get myself and my brain working with me to become successful. I have tried meditation, incantations, visualisation, mantras, listening to music, trading in different working environments, mental rehearsal… the list goes on.

For quite sometime I had an awesome trading style, I could clearly see all the trades I needed to take and the ones that were high probability, the only problem was, some alien being took over my body on regular occasions and forced me to do things that were not in my own best interests. I was sabotaging myself, this was in amongst the fear and greed based trading.

Most of the time I was totally in my mind when trading, my mind was feeding me ideas that were not helping me at all, all my subconscious fears were coming to the surface through my mind whenever I traded. These fears could be broken down into 2 types:
[ol]
[li]Fears about the past - past mistakes re-occurring, not being worthy based on past mistakes…
[/li][li]Fears about the future - I need to make lots today or my dreams will never happen, I need to win so I can be free etc etc
[/li][/ol]
[B]The Turning Point[/B]

Things started turning around for me after I read “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle and subsequently his next book “A New Earth”.

Basically this is what I learned: The only moment there ever is, is right NOW. There is no past, the past happened in the now, there is no future, there is only now.