From poker to FX

Hey,

As the title suggest I came from playing online poker. For a very long time, since one of our poker school introduced a trading school(tradimo), I became really interested. To make things short, I’ve been playing poker for almost 10 years, no high rollers, I play online micro stakes keeping a consistent positive graph. I lately lost my passion to the game and decided to quit for now. I thought about FX since it’s been a long time that I wanted to try this. So here I am, absolutely had no clue about financial staff or market. I started studying some few stuff and it’s going well. I deposited money in XM, haven’t trade yet until I get a grasp on what I’m going to do. I’ll be starting with $400 in Micro Lot, so anyone can give me advise or idea for a good Risk Management Strategy with my capital size, I would really appreciate it :smiley:

I see a lot of similarities in FX with poker, with risk management, reward ratio, mentality and all. As much as I have learned, I can tell that they are fundamentally the same, mindset and managing risk, rewards, etc pretty much plays the same, but different of course in details.

I hope to learn a lot here.

I would suggest you withdraw your deposit and don’t put it back until you do get a grasp on what you’re going to do. That could take 8 months of learning to trade forex properly. As 90% of newbies are losing their capital, the odds are against you - as they would be for a new poker player sitting at your table.

As your mindset seems solid, and you can handle emotion, I suggest you look for the simplest strategy that attracts you. Plenty here on this site if you press the green Education button above. And then open a demo account to practice and experiment trading small lot sizes keeping risk to 1% maximum per trade, and set an overall risk limit on a daily basis.