From where my profit comes?

I saw that there has been a mystery and confusion from where my profit comes. Some people say that someone must lose if I want to gain profit. Is it actually true?

2 Likes

I have no experience working for a broker.

My personal opinion is it really doesn’t matter where your profit comes from.

The theory that someone must loose for you to profit would assume that some other clown is trading the same size position in the opposite direction and entering and exiting in an opposite manner.

For example.
You click buy now 1 Lot. With your buy now you attach automatically a take profit order and a stop loss order.
The market moves in your favor and takes out your take profit order.

The opposite would be someone had the next 1 Lot sitting on the sell side at the price you were filled. And the market moved against them until they clicked the exit button at the exact time your take profit was filled.

So as you can see from my example this would be highly unlikely that you can say someone must lose when you win.

There is possibility that your broker may hedge your position. That is they would take your buy order and simultaneously they would enter their own buy for 1 lot to hedge their risk. Then to enable you to exit they would take your take profit order and exit their other position simultaneously.

But personally I doubt if many brokers operate like this.

1 Like

Most traders are losing money. There is no shortage of funds going into the brokerage from their losing trades to pay your profits.

1 Like

In trading, it’s not a zero-sum game. Profit can come from various market dynamics, not solely at the expense of others.

2 Likes

Forex trading through a retail broker is often regarded as a zero-sum game, where the gains of one trader are balanced by the losses of another.

1 Like