Full-Time Trader

I’m a 21yrs old college student, I’ve been trading forex for a year now and I made a profit of arround 20k. I’m now thinking of doing it as a business full time. First, I’m a canadian, is it possible to form a company and the only business of the company is just trading currency? and I get a salary form the company and I pay tax? are there any disadvantages to doing that? or is it better to just doing it as self employed? Anybody here is a Canadian trader and how u report your income? Thanks for helping me start up my business.

Well first nightmare I had with Forex, even before I learned anything about margin or leverage, was that our stupid CDN gov’t would have some crazy tax law on FX trading. So I got down&dirty with the Revenue Canada website, and here’s what I found:

Same taxing system as any other capital gain! (which was a big bonus for me because I was already very used to those taxes). If you are not familiar, that’s taxation on HALF of your profit for the year, which is better than being taxed on all of it of course. And on the other side of the coin, there’s a deductable (against your profits) on HALF of your losses. There’s also carry-backs for losses (which I handily used this year actually). And as a tiny FX bonus, if you make less than $30 profit on the FX, you don’t have to pay taxes haha. That was so random it made me laugh :smiley:

As for trading as a business? Way out of my league. I don’t know if you’d be pinned with businesses taxes, capital gain taxes, both or neither (yeah right :rolleyes: ) But you sound like you’re doing pretty good on your own, why not just re-invest that profit and soon you’ll be making 6-figures, with a nice tax benefit. If you made 100K salary, you’d pay taxes on 100K earnings, if you made 100K capital gain, you’d pay taxes on 50K earnings… pretty cool eh???

Thanks for sharing this info. Can i ask where in the Revenue Canada website you found all this information?