Fundamental analysis

Hey traders!

Currently I’m mostly a technical swing trader, in order to diversify my trading I’m already trying for a while to create a fundamental based strategy for longer term trades and a better R:R. I’ve read many different books on this, but really struggling to find direction in this jungle as there are many fundamental factors at play and very different for each pair (CAD/JPY highly oil and risk driven, while others much less i.e.)

I’ve chosen to mainly focus on monetary policy / forecasting and bond yield differentials, of which I have two questions:

1. How to create a strategy around this and which pairs should we avoid. I.e. is CAD/JPY not mostly risk and oil driven, and much less monetary policy?

2. Eventhough I’m a technical trader, I find it very hard to find the right technical approach to a fundamental based direction in a currency pair. Reason being is that you can catch a technical swing, but to buy/sell and hold for the longer term may stop you out as we don’t know how far the market will pullback first before it resumes the fundamental direction. Which zones should we pick to enter and what to do with our stop?

One last question, I’ve been as well looking to find a useful course for getting a better grip on fundamental analysis in forex. If anyone can recommend some quality stuff it would be very welcome.

Thanks!

News events especially like NFPR’s and interest rate announcements are the bane of most traders’ lives.

You’re watching price moving along very calmly and then you realise too late Oh my God its NFPR’s! And boom, price goes up out of the top of the screen and then crash down through the bottom of the screen and 3 minutes later it settles back where it was. Like nothing had happened.

Except your stop-loss was hit and now you’re out. Or your entry order was hit and now you’re long but you’re already losing big time and its only been 3 minutes.

Hi Jckbt,

Thanks for taking the time to answer.