Fundamental crashes

So yesterday on 19th Nov jpy started to go up you can’t really say other pairs crashed completely they started recovering shortly but I’m pretty new to this and fundamentally newb so I heard it was due to Germany releasing covid reports and all but my question is there was nothing on forex factory about that it being very major news so how do we forsee these kind of events like is there any site or channel where we get know before hand if any event like this is going to happen which can potentially shake the market for some while?
Appreciate your time!

Its actually quite rare that political events affect currencies in a dramatic way. The usual factors are economic news announcements - central bank interest rate decisions, unemployment data releases, purchasing manager data, retail sales reports, inflation rates, etc. All these are routine can be found in a decent economic calendar s their release dates are known in advance.

As for the political events, they and politicians are not always predictable and these things are not calendared in advance. But the best judges for which way a currency is going to go in the near future are all working in the forex market for the big banks. Therefore, if you follow what the big banks are doing you will be right more often than you are wrong. As an example of this principle, see the EUR/CHF crash of 15/01/15.

1 Like

Well many news outlets wrote about that, so it definitely got some attention and came under market radars

1 Like

Wasn’t Germany. it was Austria (next door) who announced lock down starting Monday - caused a little panic in risk instruments especially given that US indices had closed evening before at all time highs.

Rule no.1 is protect profit - thus selling risk always happens faster than buying it.

Was speaking about here on Friday as it happened - btw want to learn about risk in the market?