Funded Accounts VS Your own Funds

Hi All, :slight_smile:

I’m a relatively new trader - well, scratch that, after 3 years ‘trading’, being scammed from a course and finally putting in the graft by reading and doing it properly (trade logs, correct risk mgt etc) - I feel like my trading journey is now starting to make sense and I’m seeing consistency.

My question is for anyone who has registered with a company such as TopStep FX or FTMO to obtain ‘funded’ accounts rather than your own money. What was your experience like? Learning curves? Conclusions?

I’m currently exploring such options with the hope this is expedite the size of my returns VS using my own modest funds.

Any input would be appreciated.

7 Likes

I’m deeply suspicious of why anyone would give someone else money to rade - much less a novice !

Sounds far “Too good to be true” - So I conclude there is some scam in it somewhere !

2 Likes

The business model is that you pay them a fee to trade and the trades are very restrictive so end up staying in the monthly fee. Better to build your own pot that way you control the trades and your time

4 Likes

It definitely isn’t a scam.

I don’t do it but I do know people that do.

You have to jump through a number of hoops to get access to any capital, which you have to pay a fee to do. And as you probably know majority of traders have dollar signs in their eyes and over estimate their abilities so I have heard on the grapevine that something like 95% of traders who take part in the entry challenge and pay a fee fail because they can’t achieve the profit targets with the strict risk management criteria. So they make money initially from all the overly ambitious ones.

Then the ones that do make it through to a funded account still have to operate with certain risk management criteria and there is a profit split so it is not like the trader keeps everything they earn.