Haptics Mechanical Chicken (R.I.P)

Hi all!

I am a novice trader simultaneously pursuing two different styles of trading. One of them is discretionary and one is mechanical. This is the mechanical line of inquiry, and unlike the other trade journal this one is running only in demo mode. I frankly don’t expect it to last long, but you never know.

THE SYSTEM
This system was designed using the Visual Strategy Builder developed by Forex Tester. The service is very much in beta but shows promise. The service can take your rules and create an EA backend code for you which can be run in metatrader 4. This system backtested well across most years and the major pairs when I ran it in Forex Tester 4.

THE RULES (buy rule, invert for sell)

-The Daily 20 SMA must be higher today than it was 2 days ago.
-The Daily 20 SMA must be higher than it was 5 days ago.
-The Daily 20 SMA from five days ago must be higher than it was 10 days ago.

As you can see, this is my primitive way of trying to explain to the computer in mechanical rules that the 20 SMA should be pointing up.

If these conditions are met, buy at market immediately with a 36 pip stop loss, a 50 pip take profit, and a 35 pip trailing stop which moves in 20 pips increments. “Move take profit” is enabled, so if the take profit is hit, the system can breeze past it and continue with the trailing stop. Which probably means the take profit target is redundant.

The system runs on the following pairs:

EURUSD, EURAUD, EURCAD, GBPUSD, AUDUSD, USDCAD, AUDCAD.

This system trades ALOT. If its profit factor stays above 1.1 I could see it being very successful indeed, but I don’t see that happening. I set it running on monday in the demo with 10k and it immediately went backwards by $30, yet today it seems to have come back, so I’ll post here its results along with my observations until the experiment ends.

At the moment things look like this:

Each trade is 1% risk.

Go mechanical chicken! :joy:

1 Like