Having trouble coming up with decent strategy

Ok. I am an aspiring forex trader. I have a full time job, so I will only be doing swing trading, holding positions for multiple days.

I have read a lot about the strategies which I can use and Bollinger bands and candlestick price action is what I am interested in. ( Also fibonacci). I dont think I like too many indicators.

I have firmed up some rules on how I want to enter the market. But when I look at charts, I dont see the conditions being met. So I cannot make an entry.

Since I cannot watch the market on a continuous basis, I usually miss my entries. :frowning:

How to get around that? Should I set alerts, so that when price is above or below, enter the trade. I am getting frustated as I cannot pinpoint the right time to enter , based on my criteria.

So I have a startegy in place, but because the conditions are not right, I just cannot enter the trade. And then I might have missed an entry.

What to do?

If your entry rule is indicator based, you can write an EA under MT4 or MT5 to send you an email when conditions are met, or even enter the trade for you. I did that in the past, I was receiving an email and a notification on my phone when some indicators where aligned, with a pre-calculated volume in the email.

If you can predict somehow your desired entry price before the trading session, from a channel or whatever, most platforms will have an option to send you an email, or even a text message on your phone sometimes, when a given price is touched. Or you can use pending orders (buy limit, buy stop, sell limit, sell stop, OCO orders)

Otherwise you may choose an even greater time frame, or accept imperfect entries.

As others have suggested, you can automate the process and even use VPS hosting, but unless you are coding your own ea, you may want to think twice before using one, good luck