Help with moving average strategy optimization

I found a strategy which has been very profitable (backtest and forward test) but I’m having difficulty in executing and watching my trades since it requires me to be in the market all the time. As a student I often missed some good trades and sometimes I had to sleep late at night just to watch over my trade. I’m hoping someone here could give some advice or add additional rules to my strategy to help me with my problem :smiley:

Strategy:

GOLD
Timeframe: H1

Indicators:
SHORT EMA (1)
SHORT SMA (2)
LONG SMA (3)

Buy/Short when 1 crosses 2 AND 3
Exit only when 1 crosses 2 (no stop loss)

Very simple strategy but hard to follow. Can somebody suggest like adding stop losses or exit strategies like a trailing stop or a pip target or anything. Any help or suggestion would be appreciated. Thank in advance! :slight_smile:

SL @ hourly ATR (30 periods, i.e. 30) x 4/3 (multiply to 4 and divide to 3)
TP @ hourly ATR (30) x 2/3

none mechanical system is better than manual trading, therefore, perhaps the same strategy (i’m a fan of MA’s too) in a larger timeframe would suit better your daily schedule.

hope this helps

is it the price +/- the value I get? sorry im kinda new to the ATR indicator

MA cross is the 1st strategy I learned. I still use moving averages, but not the cross because one of the problems with it, is you have to always be in front of your computer as there is no way to pre program entries and exits related to the cross.

One thing I noticed that you may want to consider is simple is good, but no matter how simple you want to keep your strategy you need to include support and resistance lines in your trading method. I mention this because I didn’t see S&R lines in your indicator list.