Hi, I'm Tesko. I like bollinger bands, candle charts and long walks on the beach

Good morning.

It’s 10:23am, I’m finishing my third cup of coffee and thought to hell with this: now is a better time than any to start.

I’ve had a deep seeded interest in the markets since I was a kid. Now at a much more ripe age, there’s no time like the present.

I have never traded before, but I’ve watched Wall Street like, 7 times so I should pretty much have it down by now. :sweat_smile:

I’m a Business Analyst by day with a ton of free time between projects. Forex (and/or S&P500 mini futures) might be the perfect hobby to spice up my day, and make some beer (or yacht?) money.

I’m based in Canada. I’m approaching this with an open mind and welcome any and all feedback, tips, experiences and pints of beer. If you have any broker recommendations, I’m all ears.

I love you.

2 Likes

Hi @Tesko, nice post! :slight_smile:

Are you intending to start straight with a live account or with a demo training account?

Since you mention bollinger bands I guess you are not a total Newbie? What currency pairs interest you especially? I guess maybe USDCAD, for example?

Welcome to BP! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @anon46773462, thanks.

I am a total newbie actually. For the most part anyway. I’ll be opening a demo account to use as a vehicle for learning about forex in general and also to start practicing different systems until one fits naturally.

USD/CAD or EUR/USD would be two that I would consider to start with. I would likely only pick one pair and focus on that for a while. Im a big believer in depth over breadth. A jack of trades I am not. I’d rather be a master of one. I don’t think I have it in my DNA to be one of those sitting at a rack of 10 monitors tanning my face on a pile of charts.

I’m a bit of a minimalist - one currency pair. One reliable trading strategy. Live it. Breathe it.