Home Office Set up

So this question is a little different than the usual Newbie questions. I am obviously new to Forex trading and trading in general. As I’ve gone through tutorials online I always see people who are sitting in front of multiple computer screens with various programs running. I currently only have my MacBook and a desk. My question is this: What would be a good home office set up? and do multiple monitors and/or CPUs add a significant amount of benefit to justify the costs associated with them. Of course as I grow in skills as a trader I am sure I will graduate to using them but should I invest in them at such an early stage of my trading career? Thanks for the responses.

3 Likes

Great question, @kwanbrown1!

Probably not. When you trade, you have to approach it as you would start any business by avoiding unnecessary expenses. As your trading improves, you might consider using some of your profits to invest in better technology, but only when you are confident it will contribute to your success. As your skills and knowledge develop, you may decide that, instead of a monitor, you would rather invest your money in advanced charting or to hire programmers who can help automate your strategy.

“For which of you, intending to build a tower, sitteth not down first, and counteth the cost, whether he have sufficient to finish it? Lest haply, after he hath laid the foundation, and is not able to finish it, all that behold it begin to mock him, Saying, This man began to build, and was not able to finish.” - Luke 14:28-30

4 Likes

An economical approach I use is to open multiple MT4 instances and tile the charts. This way you can easily follow a few dozen markets at the same time. MT4 doesn’t consume much memory, so you can have these running with other trading/charting software.

Thanks Captain :grin:

Perhaps this thread of Dr. Pipslow may also be helpful to you

4 Likes