How close to the entry price can a stop loss be placed?

There seems to be a minimum number of pips above or below the entry price from which a stop loss will be accepted. Too close and the stop loss is rejected. How many pips is that? If not a constant, then what are the variables that determine the number of pips?

well it depends on where your spread price goes too. you dont want it too close becasue ti wil just close too quickly, if your watching it anyway theres no need to place a stop loss.

Thank you for replying. There are times where the candle pattern for a continuation only suggests a stop loss of 5 pips. I’m new to this but my understanding is that the spread is never that large. And the smaller the stop loss the more dollars per pip we earn if price moves favorably. I’m doing all this in demo. It just seems that sometimes I have a hard time getting a stop loss that close. I understand we can’t take a stop loss within the spread but maybe the spread is sometimes larger than I anticipated.

no you earn the amount by the lot size you use, all you are doing is minimising the risk against your account whicvh enables you to use a higher lot size. but always remember the market movers can easily east up a 5 pip stop loss if its set in the market. as its an order waiting to be filled. your better watching it and having pips in mind when you will close it then do it manually

I appreciate the response. Thank you.

It is my understanding that for a given account size and risk%, that the dollars per pip in reward is higher for a smaller SL than for a larger one because the lot size is larger for the same dollars of risk. And if one subscribes to a 1.5 TP level, then the number of pips to reach the TP is fewer. Our dollars risked remains constant with these givens regardless of the distance of the SL. I understand a smaller SL may get stopped out more frequently of course.