How do people learn to be a successful trader?

I have been trading for a couple of years and still wouldn’t describe myself as successful.

So what is the best way of getting to the next level

Read a book(s)?
You tube - which channel
Find someone as a mentor - who to trust?
Re do the school of pipsology

Seriously I want to find the best medium for me to develop and become consistent so any pointers would be great thanks

One of the first steps in finding out how to get it right is to sort out what you were doing wrong so far. After a few years of trading you should be able to look back and identify some common elements that led to losses.

For example, were you getting stopped out too often? were you over trading? were you consistently following your strategy? did you have a strategy? were your position sizes too large with excessive risk?

It is a teasingly frustrating exercise and you are certainly not alone in it. Afterall, the markets are only going to either go up or go down! So we only need to decide which of these two options we think will happen, and then decide how far if we are right and how far if we are wrong.

So are you getting the direction wrong or suffering from small gains and big losses?

Looking at these issues should help you identify the problem - and then finding the solution is a little more defined! :smiley:

5 Likes

I second this.

Look back at your journal. If you don’t have a journal, start one.

You’re looking for a mentor. A forex master.

There is one place that you have not looked. And it is there, only there, that you shall find the master: your charts! Review your trade history!

5 Likes

Can’t agree more.

This is when you reach a dead end (there is only so much worth learning,well theory)

the next stage is a sort of realisation

Hope that doesn’t sound claptrap :blush::open_mouth:

3 Likes