How do you backtest?

I know quite well how important backtesting is. How do you backtest the market? What’s your technique?

3 Likes

First of all, I’m not an expert in this backtesting stuff but if I were to backtest my own strategy, what I want to see is the flaws of my strategy so that I can generally avoid that during my live trading. I also need to be aware of what market state that I am currently in during my backtest so that I don’t simply judge the strategy wouldn’t work if it generates poor stats. This information also might help me to reflect on what’s the strategy weaknesses and find a solution of how to improve the strategy.

But, at the same time, I also need to bare in mind that these past performance doesn’t always represent future result. Many people done backtest and achieved positive result so they immediately translate this result should reflect exactly in live market which is not true. Personally, I wouldn’t waste so much time on backtesting because I did it in the past but I feel like it didn’t do much help on my trading (It might because of I was still new and didn’t know how to use this tool correctly maybe). I still remember doing it back in my early days, keep changing this and that, tweak this and that value. Wasting lots of time doing these crap (my personal experience though. Whether you think is good or not it’s totally up to you).

What I rather be doing if I were going back in time is to practice on a live market even more using a demo account. Putting 500% my effort in practice instead of just 100%. And then take the time to reflect on what I did. More like a sportman way of improving his/her craft. Without practice, I wouldn’t be able to improve my performance.