How much back testing do you consider is enough?

And why?

You can keep scrolling left until your chart runs out of bars but when is enough?
Have you picked an arbitrary number of periods to test, such as 24 bars, 365 bars, 52 bars…?
An arbitrary number of sample trades such as 20 trades, 50 trades, 100 trades?
Or have you just decided that when you can’t be bothered to do any more back testing, that’s enough?

And what is more relevant, recent results or historical results?

I know that in the end, it doesn’t really matter because nothing predicts the future. Even if your back test has glowing results, that doesn’t mean the future will give you something similar, such is the will of the markets…

Good morning Kwyjibo.

Speaking as an inexperienced newbie, I would suggest that it’s more important to be as objective as possible in back testing different systems. That is, for each system the same extent of backtesting for each should be applied whether that’s one month or one decade. As we all know us humans are terribly good at finding what we want to see - if one has invested time and effort into creating a trading system then we will always tend to see the areas in price history where it would have worked and gloss over the parts where it would not have done well.

All just my humble opinion of course! Cheers.

I generally prefer 1000+ sample trades across different years and different pairs. I normally trade 11 pairs (majors + Yen crosses), so will backtest each pair, from 2001 to 2012. If the vast majority of pairs show a significantly positive profit factor (generally 1.2+) then I’m usually happy. It would suggest that my backtest is robust. I can’t remember where I read it, but sample sizes above 1,000 show significant diminishing returns in accuracy. I know that Newspoll and other polling companies survey approx 1,000 to 1,200 voters every month to get a snapshot of the political intentions of 20 million Australians.