How much money I should take risk every day?

Hello, I"m a new trader and I just started FTMO 10K challenge and they allow a max 5% DD each day and max 10%. So how much risk I should take every day 1 or 2 or 3%? Please let me know. Thank you.

2 Likes

As someone who has failed ftmo 4 times and passed the 5th (no joke). Here are couple of things I had to understand before I passed it. But before I do, just so you know I am a very conservative trader. Everyone might trade their FTMO account differently.

1- With FTMO, if you took the $10000 account, what you are really trading with is $1000. The $9000 left is only there for margin to allow to take multiple trades at once, if you confident in your strategy but all within $500 daily max loss. So overall you are only allowed to trade $500 of $1000 per day. So it’s best to go in with a mindset of « My capital is $500 ».

2- Knowing that, your risk should be 0.5% of $10000 (0.05% of 1000) for each trade you take, or a cumulative of 0.5% risk if you have multiple positions opened at once. Mathematically speaking, you are safer long term if you risk only $50 per trade, in a $500 capital.

Now here is the thing. I said earlier that I am a very conservative trader. And here is why.

A $50 Risk per trade or a cumulative of trades sounds nice for a $10000 account as it allows you to have 10 trades per day to reach you max loss. By calculation you will have to lose 10 trades to blow your $500 daily capital.

Problem is this is only suitable If you have a trading strategy that gives you high RR and limits your entries per day. If you do then $50 per trades is heaven.

To be more specific my strategy for instance allows me to take only 3 trades per day, with the probability to win 1 of 3 trades guaranteed each day. In my system, my smallest RR being 1:5 at the minimum like the picture of this current trade I am in

A 1:30 RR max (usually 2/3 days trades during trending market conditions), and 1:10RR is the average.