How often are you in the markets?

I am a new trader, I just started on a demo account. When I look at my charts no matter the time frame I never seem to see my indicators lineup for a buy signal. This leads to discouragement and i just give up looking at my charts. I feel like I’m not looking at my charts enough, so my first question is this. How long do you spend looking at your charts?

Currently I am trying to use the ichimoku system as that what i am most familiar with.

thank you

I spend little time looking at charts but I am a long-term trader using the daily time-frame and am often in a position for 3-10 days. I am almost never out of the market.

3 Likes

My figure doesn’t matter (and isn’t relevant, and is very low). Yours does. At the stage you’re at, hopefully a lot, and a high proportion of your time.

Ichimoku is not a “system:” it’s a set of indicators (and a good one). What settings are you using, and with what chart-speed?

2 Likes

That’s probably because you’ve bought into the notion that there are "perfect setups. I hate to break it to you, but they don’t exist. Let me see if I can help you out. Take a look at this chart of the EUR/USD:

It’s obvously in a triangle (or wedge, since it slopes downward a little), which is a type of trading range. Since I have learned to recognize price action patterns, it took me less than ten seconds to recognize this one.

Now, most traders will wait for the breakout before they attempt to jump in. But did you know that there are at least five possible scalps (trades) within this pattern?

The first one is a double bottom that forms the first area of support. Then, you have three failed breakout attempts that form a double-topping pattern. The result was the first move down, ultimatley forming the second point of support.