How to choose which pair to trade

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here so I would like to start by saying that I think the community you have built here is awesome! The school is amazing and has taught me so much more than I thought I knew :slight_smile:

I am wondering what to consider when deciding which pair to trade. I used to simply take a look at the charts and see which one is trending and try to surf the waves but then I’ve learned (thanks to the school here) about how the news and various fundamentals can affect the chart info.

I am currently using a practice account so my losses do not hurt but I would like to build a strategy that allows me to profit almost every the time before I start trading with real money.

Any advice is greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

This is not necessarily a majority view, but you don’t have to limit yourself to just one pair. I trade a number of pairs, I’m a TA trader and I am just looking for technical setups. I trade majors, minors and a number of cross pairs, I feel that it enables me to limit myself for the purer setups.

Anyway, we’re all different, all I want to say is don’t assume that the only successful approach is that of trading just one pair.

ST

(And btw welcome to BP!!)

Hello and welcome to babypips!
I would start trading a pair or two, not more… when you will be a little more experienced and you will be able to recognize the patterns at first sight you can switch to more pairs.
By the way, try to find your way of trading, I mean you can test different indicators and different strategies… only when you have tried all these indicators you can choose the one that best suits you.
I used EMAs, MACD and simple patterns such as trend lines, supports and resistances… I can’t say it is wrong, but I couldn’t make profits that way, now I use Stochastic, simple patterns, volumes, fundamentals and I’m trying to introduce price action and I can say I’m a profitable trader now… I’ve found my way :wink:
Good luck!