How to find a programmer to create an indicator or EA?

Dear commnity,

Please share your experience on the following issue: if I have several ideas on custom indicators and EAs (based on my own strategies), how can I find programmer to transform these ideas into something that would actually work? Since I have no experience in coding, I think it would be better to find someone for this purpose.
So, the questions are:

• where to search for experienced programmers?
  • what are the main criteria to choose one?

I will greatly appreciate your answers

1 Like

You will need to hire a dev… What language or platform are you wanting to code on?

Everyone talks about MT4 but they are alot of scams and if you want to truely analyse the market you want to automate a system that can gather data from diffrent sources like news sentiment which MT4 can not do so for an advanced system you will need python.

My personal advice though would be to learn coding or atleast a mediocre amount so

A) you don’t get pushed around by devs on freelance sites
B) you progress as a trader. Trading is moving in the direction of automation and advanced algorithms so being a trader who does not understand code would be like a builder without a paintbrush or hammer

Since you are not familiar with programming I would suggest that you not consider using Python. Use an existing well known platform such as MT4/5, Ninjatrader, Tradestation, etc. These platforms have the necessary plumbing, charting and drawing tools, architecture, broker platform connectors, backtesting capabilities, etc. to build on top of. Visit their forums and most likely you will find programmers who have been vetted by the community and can provide you with samples of similar work that they have done for others.