How to manage stop loss

Hi all,

I’m new to forex trading and have a question about stop losses. I’m not sure if my idea is achievable so any feedback would be great.

The system I am back testing is as follows:

I enter a trade when three time frames (m15, h1, h4) are either all above or all below their 50 period EMA’s.

I set my take profit at 1/3 of a full day’s ATR with a risk/ reward of 1:1. I’m looking to be out of the trade within 24 hours maximum.

When the trade reaches the half way point to my take profit I want to move my stop loss up to break even. I work full time (and will be asleep during the Asia session) so can’t guarantee I’ll be around to do this manually. Are there any ways I can achieve this automatically when I enter the trade?

Thanks in advance,

Luke

1. Using trailing stop experts advisor/ EA
  2. Use Ctrader platform, Ctrader has trailing stop functions

CMIIW

1 Like

Thanks for your quick response artawidi!

I’ve never used an EA before so how would I go about this?

I trade using cTrader however if my full TP target is 30 pips and I set a trailing stop at 15 pips then effectively I would be on a risk reward of 1:2?

Thanks again,

Luke

no way to manage stop loss until make sure a good money management.

Well, on the SL/TP issue I count support-resistant levels so seriously rather than any other technical tool; besides, I have no specific target on SL/TP.

U can order custom EA trailing if u use metaquotes,

Not exactly like that,
Trailing stop is for locking profit,
I can’t explain u better, english is not my native,(i am use trailing too)
Some senior member will help u in details about trailing,

Personally I set my TP and SL up before I enter any trades.
Good luck with what you are trying…make sure you demo first of course :wink:

i HAVE TESTED THIS AND IN ADDITION WOULD LOVE TO INTRODUCE FIBONACCII LEVELS WORKING PERFECT ESPECIALLY IN STOPLOSS PLACEMENTS