I see no advantage with Forex.. what am I missing?

Noob here. Please bear with me. Not trying to pick a fight. Just honestly confused…

I’m just trying to make sense of why people are so excited about Forex. Of the advantages commonly stated, I’m really not seeing where the upside is that great. Some commonly promoted benefits:

1. 24 hr markets

2. Liquidity

3. Fixed spread (if you are willing to pay for that)

4. Low trading costs

5. Frequently trending pairs

6. Ease of flipping between long/short/long/short

7. Ability to use leverage

8. 24 hr markets.
    Okay. This one I do agree with. Overnight gaps against an equity position can ruin your day. This one I will firmly put in the Plus column, with the caveat that an equity trader can take steps to minimize gap threat.

9. Liquidity
    Unless you are a HFT I don’t see this as a big reason to choose Forex. And if you are a HFT Forex trader, how the heck are you making any money with all the trading costs involved? I only see traders who work for banks and get inter-bank rates as being able to profit from HFT. Or maybe if you are rich and have a special deal with some bank.

10. Fixed spread (if you are willing to pay for that)
    I suspect that brokers who offer this also have a lot of fine print you need to agree with that might allow them to wriggle out of this obligation in a pinch.

11. Low trading costs
    I’m not seeing this one at all. The costs to trade Forex seem to be very similar to my costs to trade equities or futures.

12. Frequently trending pairs
    There are many markets that frequently trend. No advantage to Forex IMHO.

13. Ease of flipping between long/short
    Hmm. Unless you are high frequency, I really see no big advantage here.

14. Ability to use leverage