I think I've cracked the code

Hello BP community,

Welcome to my journal! This is both exciting and thrilling as this is my first ever post here in Babypips. I’ve been following this website for about eight years now and this is my first time to post something. I’m taking courage to do this as I believe I’ve cracked the code! Specially in terms of consistency in profit. I’m also a graduate of School of Pipsology, read a lot in the community forum and witnessed many struggles and false hopes. I myself struggled heavily during my eight years trying to learn forex.

THE JOURNEY

My relationship with forex is very much MAKE and BRAKE. I allot time formulating strategies and backtesting it for a time. Demo trade and win. After a couple of weeks I lose and try to tweak or develop new strategy. Demo trade and win. Then lose again after some time. Pretty much like a cycle of doom. Already blew a $2000 live account during the early years. I was so high and excited then. But I’m totally a different person now in my approach I can say.

There where even times when I cursed forex and thought that the whole system was a scam and a syndicated platform to extract cash from everybody for the benefit of the banking industry. Yes, I was that bitter! During those dark years I really hated forex and feel pity for those who fall victim. Anyways it’s 9 out of 10 right? Yeah.

THE GAME CHANGER

But even with this hatred, there’s still a small voice saying “there might be an answer”. I’m a problem solver by nature. I love troubleshooting things. I apply this to my life, my job and to everything. But with forex, I almost gave up. But still I’m hopeful at some point. And so I setup again, upload all the indicators, profile and templates. And start loosing again. It’s OK. I’m ready! I don’t expect much!

Finally it dawned on me, It’s not the system that’s wrong. It’s the expectations!