Indicators on different time frames

I am having issues with understanding indicators using the different time frame. When I check the H4 tomeframe the indicator can be saying overbought whereas on 30 min timeframe it is showing it is just rising. Also the valise of ADX diffrrs and likewise other indicators. How do I resolve this?

Hi, indicators use information from time frames where are installed for calculations. That is why you see difference. Regards Greg

2 Likes

@ProfesorPips
I was tempted to explain then I noticed that this user has no likes given/received , no comments a part from this question.
This is the tipical behavior of bots, generic questions to post on 10 different trading forums.

1 Like

I am new to forex. Started reading Forex on this blog just barely a month now and I just join the forum.

1 Like

Thanks for the response. My problem is this: if H4 is showing oversold and 30min time frame is just diving down towards sold. Which should I use when I want to enter a trade? Most times when I see such I get confused if I should enter or wait

3 Likes

It is to depend on your strategy, market research, knowledge, skills, risk appetite, funds on account.

2 Likes

Hi @kemaona
All these indicators are based on mathematical formulas using a selected number of candles/bars.
If you apply the same indicator with the same parameters on different timeframes then your indicator is calculating a value across a different period of time and will give different answers. But each answer is correct for the timeframe it is being applied to.

For example, if you apply a 12-period RSI to a 4-hour chart then it is calculating a value across 12 bars of 4 hours each, i.e. across the previous 4x12 = 48 hours of price movements. That’s 2 whole days. But if you apply the same indicator on a 30min chart then it is only calculating a value from the previous 12x0.5= 6 hours of price movements.