Is it possible to set slippages for pending orders in mt4?

Hi,

I think the slippage parameter in ordersend() only works for market orders, right? if I set it when sending a buy_stop, it won’t help when the stop is hit, right? if yes, is there’s a way to protect from slippage when pending orders get hit?

Thank you very much

I’m no expert on MT4 (coding) let me make that clear.

I do know this though:

Even with market orders it depends on your broker as far as I know i.e. at some MT4 brokers (when placing a market order via ‘New Order’) there is an option ‘Enable maximum deviation from quoted price’ (the amount of the ‘maximum deviation’ is user defineable obviously) and at others this option is not offered. So as I said: as to whether the slippage parameter in ordersend() only works for market orders I’d check if it indeed works with you broker.

In addition to the above: at NO broker have I seen the option ‘Enable maximum deviation from quoted price’ available for either stop or limit orders.

Understanding order types and how they are executed is important to know though (if you don’t already understand this that is of course). Here’s a link that contains some information and two further links explaining the different types of (possible) orders and how they are executed (in reality): Technical Trading Systems at TechTraderCentral - Types of Orders.

Not sure if all this helps but slippage is just a ‘part of the game’ and many people don’t understand this (and I’m not particularly referring to you).

Regards,

Dale.

Yes that is correct.

When sending pending orders the slippage parameter in OrderSend() is ignored you should set it to 0.
This is because you selected a price before the market got there, so unlike market orders there can be no slippage. Slippage is when the price changed before the order was received by the broker.

Good morning,

SDC:

You and I have never disagreed on anything but are you 100% sure about this: