Is simplicity really the key?

From the moment i started learning about Trading Strategies and Trading Systems i kept seeing this little phrase all over the internet:
** SIMPLICITY IS THE KEY **
which means that we gotta keep our strategies as simple as possible , right?
a few examples:
#1 when price hits price action support & resistance and if it is in overbought & oversold of RSI and we have clear buy & sell signals from Stochastic Oscillator , then we open our position.
#2 if we are bullish on Ichimoku cloud then we try to find a buy position when price is retracing and hitting a price action support , and exactly the opposite for bearish momentum.

I don’t understand , is that what professionals and experienced traders do? :expressionless:
or they do a comprehensive analysis on their charts every day?
what is wrong with being thorough? i get it , as they say (you don’t want to get lost in the chart), but here’s my final question
DO WE NEED SIMPLE STRATEGIES EVEN WHEN WE ARE EXPERIENCED?
do we just have to keep everything simple because it’s how you survive in the markets…

I think the more experienced you are the more simplistic your trading strategy will become.
At the end of the day you will never be able to guarantee which way the market moves regardless of how complicated your strategy is.
Eventually, those that stick it out will find a simple way to identify an edge in the market then continue to exploit it - keeping things boring… and simple.
I think the complexity and over analyzing comes from those that are still learning and searching for the holy grail - at least in my experience this is what I have seen.

6 Likes