I've lost my initial investment, now what?!

Hi Everyone,

I put an initial investment of £200 into the Forex market, lost it after 3 months, and I’m wondering what to do now.

Should I persist and put in another £200 or accept that Forex is not for me and try and sell ice lollies this summer?

Any thoughts, opinions or experiences will be much appreciated.

Regards,

C

Hi mate.

I’m quite new to Forex but I would say to demo account for quite sometime and see what you think by the end of it. I’ve lost £1000 in the markets but that was because I was greedy, jumped in trades at the wrong times and over traded alot. Now I’m taking my time with a demo and logging all my trades and profits / losses. £200 isn’t alot in forex depending on the time frame you trade. Daily charts like i use can eat up £200 in a matter of days. You also have to be careful with your stop losses and only risk what your comfortable in doing…even on demo accounts do this as it will keep you in the right mindset should you wish to trade in the future.

All the best,

Adam

No you should practice on demo instead and polish your strategy to the extend it can double or triple your demo accounts, not too much sensitive to spreads and slippage and featured with solid money management plan.

Agreed with the two above!!! Demo demo demo…

Also, mind sharing how you lost the initial investment?

Thanks and good luck!

£200 is a pretty small amount to speculate on currencies. It’s not even enough to trade 1k lot sizes safely.

Do you mind sharing HOW you lost £200 after 3 months? What types of trades were you doing? How big were your position sizes? Were you using some sort of trading system/strategy?

Thanks for all the replies. I’ll go back to the demo account.