Just Don't Get it

I keep hearing people lose money in FX. Up to 95%. Why?

I’m new to Forex, but traded Stocks in the past so i know or have heard of most of the indicators.

If you took a single indicator such as PSAR and just follow the dots it appears you would make money. Or how about Moving AVe? Just follow the cross overs and it appears you would come out ahead…in the long run.

So why do people lose Money?

Drawdown? Why not just trade micro lots and use just a single indicator? And if you can’t deal with the initial loses even with Micro’s you shouldn’t be trading forex at all.

I’m a newbee so just playing the devil advocate here.

My belief is that 95% of the people are looking for a “quick” dollar and don’t put the effort into learning how to trade and then quit.

I gotta agree with that. A few people I know just don’t care for actually learning how everything works and they just end up throwing money away…I’d say they’re in the 95% :slight_smile:

Have you tested that? It’s absolutely not true!

Look for an old thread here on Babypips called “Parabolic SAR, and that’s all” (or something close to that name). It will tell you why something like this won’t work.

and quite frankly showing you have no idea what you are talking about

Let�s see…hopefully I can be more helpful than Tonymand and his warm welcoming and information packed reply. WADH…

Anyway, 8 months ago I would have asked the same question about indicators. In the past I traded stocks and stock indexes using my favorite indicators and they all work well. And I assumed indicators would work as well with forex too. But when I started trading on a demo account I quickly found out that forex trades a lot different!