Kluebirby's beginner EUR/USD log

Hello!

I’m kluebirby, a beginner trader. I’ve been messing around with forex for about 9 months now but still haven’t gotten serious about it. I had a good profit up through december, but I lost that profit in about a week, ouch! I therefore figured it was time to take things more serious and start a log to keep me accountable and help me stick to my pre-determined strategy.

Again, I’m just a beginner, so don’t expect much from this log, but feel welcome to chime in!

Anyway, here are my trading rules:

[ul]
[li][B]Pair[/B] - [I][U]only[/U][/I] EUR/USD
[/li][li][B]Time frame[/B] - [I][U]only[/U][/I] 4H
[/li][li][B]Lot size[/B] - I’m using Oanda, so I can trade as little as an individual unit. I’m going to use a simple rule of thumb to regulate my position size: I’ll trade 5x as many units as I have euro on my account. For example: with 600euro I’ll trade 3000 units. This will work nicely as the risk scales linearly with my account size, and it comes down to risks of about 1%.
[/li][li][B]Strategy[/B] - I’m using support and resistance levels and indecision candles. My chart is full of identified support/resistance zones and if I get an indecision candle after a strong trend in one of these zones I’ll try to find a good entry for a reversal trade. The take profit is set near the next support/resistance and the stop loss will be below the current zone
[/li][li][B]Entering trades[/B] - I must record all trades here before entering!
[/li][li][B]Take profit[/B] - I’ll try to aim for 50 pips, but will depend on how close the next support/resistance is
[/li][li][B]Moving to breakeven[/B] - At 20 pips I’ll move my stop to breakeven
[/li][li][B]Trailing stop[/B] - Depending on my target, once I hit 35 pips I’ll either remove half of my position or add a 15 pip trailing stop
[/li][li][B]Stop loss[/B] - Again, situation dependent, but [I][U]must be less[/U][/I] than the take profit goal
[/li][/ul]

Let’s see how it goes!