Learn from Mistakes

What’s the biggest mistake you’ve made while trading forex and how did you learn from it?

6 Likes

when I first started, I used to try to use systems that usually, very frequently, made smallish profits but had occasional seriously big losses

systems like that are sadly both easy to research and easy to promote online, precisely because they’re designed to appeal to the least experienced, least successful traders (of whom there are thousands), and they’re the ones who tend to believe that win-rates on their own are a very important aspect of trading systems

mostly by reading books, getting advice from professionals, and avoiding internet “information”

8 Likes

I started trading 4 years earlier and got many of my balances crashed for being impatient in holding trades until hitting the target.

6 Likes

Choosing a bad broker, a scammer one.

4 Likes

Thinking that trading live was the same as trading profitably on a demo account. It took me another 18 months to amend my daily process to learn having a Zen mindset to avoid ever meeting an emotional challenge.

3 Likes

Some years ago, I traded silver all on a sudden on a signal provided by Swiss bank, which caused me to lose 600 dollars. Not taking any backup entry immediately was a big mistake of mine.

2 Likes

Here are some common mistakes that traders make in forex trading:

1. Overtrading: Trading too frequently, without a clear strategy or plan, can lead to losses and emotional exhaustion.
  2. Not using stop-loss orders: Stop-loss orders help limit potential losses by automatically closing a trade when it reaches a certain price point. Not using them can result in significant losses.
  3. Ignoring fundamental analysis: Economic news, events, and indicators can significantly impact the forex market. Ignoring fundamental analysis can lead to missed opportunities and increased risk.
3 Likes

Rushing into trades where they don’t follow my strategy.

2 Likes