Leverage?

Hi, I’m Steve from the U.K. Up until a week ago I’d never even heard of Forex trading but a chance encounter whilst browsing the web really made me stop and think about this crazy pastime/hobby/job. First off let me explain that I have no prior knowledge of stocks and shares or investing money whatsoever, heck I just fix pharmaceutical packaging machinery!. But I am reasonably good at maths and the idea of charts and graphs combined with money management formulas blah blah… I thought why not have a go.
After finding the BabyPips site I started reading the School section which is fantastic for a newbie like me and I’m learrning loads of cool stuff. The only problem is for reasons I can’t explain is the concept of leverage. It’s not because you’re explaining it badly because hell I’ve checked out loads of places on the net that confuse me way way more than you. I know it’s basically “controlling big money with small money” and there are hundreds of analogies out there. So all I wanna know is… If I open a demo account with a leverage of 2:1, what will I “see” physically, in my account and in my trades that would be different than if I have a leverage of 100:1. This thing about leverage is mad, If I’ve got a $1000 in my account then I’ve got a $1000 in my account right? If I’m crap I can only lose $1000 and if I’m really good I could make a couple of hundred bucks so what is this leverage everyone’s talking about. Sorry if I sound really stooopid!

You won’t [I]see[/I] anything different - at least not at first blush. Leverage only allows you to put on larger positions than otherwise possible, and obviously at 100:1 leverage you can put on trades 50x the size of an account with only 2:1 leverage - if you so desire. Higher permissible leverage also means lower margin requirements on trades you enter.