London Daybreak Strategy - A few questions?

Hello everybody!

I am not really new to trading, but I am new to daytrading, in particular two versions of the London Daybreak Strategy. The first one is the “original” one, where you place a buy stop order above the last 1-hr candle of the Asian session and a sell stop below the said candle, by x amounts of pips. The second one is the strategy where you “fade” the breakout, riding the momentum across the width of the Asian session.

Many people have said that they work really well, and I have backtested about 10 months of data on the relevant pairs on these stretegies. Judging by the back-testing results, this strategy/strategies look very good, to say the least.
However, I have now traded it myself for a month (January 2021), and all of a sudden price action does not behave nearly as well as it did in the back-testing months. I understand it is a marathon, and not a sprint and all that.
But I would like to ask a couple of questions to anyone who has any consistent experience using the London Daybreak Strategy.

1. How long does a “not-so-profitable” period usually last using the London Daybreak Strategies?
  2. What are you worst-case drawdowns using the these strategies?
  3. What is your preferred way of managing your Stop Loss on these strategies?

I would really appreciate anyone’s feedback, as trading can be a lonely endeavor.

Thank you in advance!

I have been trialling and using a variation of this strategy. I find neither Asian over-night price action nor long-term charts consistently indicate direction from the London open. A way round this is to set bracket orders, a buy at the top of the selected range and a sell at the bottom. Each has a stop-loss at the other order’s entry price.