Longshot - USD-JPY & CAD-JPY

Does anyone else out there believe that within the next 6-18 months both the USD and CAD will rebound bigtime against the JPY? I have a hunch that we’ll see mid-90s, possibility breaking the 100 mark. Just a matter of time…

1 Like

Hello,

While it is very difficult to predict what will happen over such a long period because so much could happen (did anyone predict the japan earthquake coming?) any answer to that question would just be speculation. However…

The way I look at it, its not a question of “will usd and Cad rebound against JPY?” but will JPY fall in value. Keep in mind that japan’s economy is somewhat backwards in that a weakened JPY is better for the economy due to the fact that they rely so heavily on exports (foreigners get more for their money). Also, they keep their interest rates very low (which I dont really understand the reasons for/against- I am no expert).

The earthquake was obviously a major event that affected the markets, but some analysts say that a jolt like that was a long time coming. It all really depends on the recovery and whether or not they make they most of their situation (which is pretty bad). Previously they relied on exports of goods (cars, electronics, sushi, samurais etcetc), there has been speculation that now is a chance to change the economic direction.

Perhaps we may see a long term strengthening of the yen as the western currencies struggle with debt (euro, dollar etc). I thought that the BoJ was going to pump so much money into the market to force the price to keep rising in order to entice foreign investment in the recover and although they did some of that, it doesnt seem to have mademuch difference. Maybe the west is too busy dealing with itself, or maybe Japan isnt going to be the centre of easter attention (china up and coming).