Looking for this in a broker:

OK, so instead of just throwing out a “Hyuck! Hey, guys, who’s a good broker?” I’ve given this a little thought. I’m hoping I can get some well-reasoned recommendations from successful traders who have been on this forum for a bit. I’m trying to find a broker based on the following:

1. I am new to trading. I have been slowly educating myself for about two months. Most of what I’ve learned about Forex has been on babypips.

2. I work a full time job during the day and a part time job late nights and weekends. I will only have 3 - 4 hours in the evening in which to trade. (I live in Florida, USA eastern time zone.)

3. Because of said work schedule I’m going to be trading the Japanese and possibly the Australian market and would like to find a broker who works especially well here.

4. I expect to have $4000-$7000 with which to begin live trading and so will need a broker suitable for very small positions until I gain experience (and a larger capital base).

As a follow up question, I’m wondering based on these qualifiers whether I’m better off with a broker who has tighter spreads but charges a commission, or no commission with larger spreads. Is there any real difference to the bottom line? I’m assuming the commission is a percentage value and not a flat fee per trade…?

OK I know that’s a lot, I know, but I wanted to be intelligent with my question. Or at least try to be. I hope I can get some help with this. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi @musicguy1967,

It’s great that you’re taking advantage of the resources available on this site to learn about forex.

Most forex brokers will let you trade 24 hours a day during the week, so the fact that you want to focus on trading the Asian session (daytime in Japan and Australia) is not as important a factor in choosing a broker.

Recently, there have been several discussions on this forum highlighting the dangers of trading with unregulated brokers: