Lot size help please

Hi there lovely people , I have a newbie question regarding lot sizes. I am slightly confused even though I have read and done all off the baby pips course . This is still a pre school question.

I have been running a demo account for 4 months. really getting my head around things. In fact my 2nd demo account as I ran the first one into the ground and learnt so much in the process.

I have my strategy now that seems to be working fine. Sits comfortably with me and am almost ready to switch back over to my real account.

I made notes right at the the start.

My Lot sizes then were this for example

EUR/USD

0.01 = $3.04
0.10 = $30.40
1.00 =$304.00

I have only noticed today my Margin is Huge. On 4 or five positions open @ 1.00 each.

So I have calculated that one Lot size is now:

EUR/USD

0.01 = $38.96

I made many notes all several pairs and indexes even traded on the real account with some success and some mistakes.

Any thoughts would be helpful

I am with the broker AVA and am using MT4 . I will contact them as well if no one here can shed some light.

Thank you kindly

RJS

I Just opened my real account and thought I would place a very small amount on USD/CHF by mistake actually . should have been another pair. whoops .

0.01 is = $2.5 as before

so still a little confused… but feeling better if the real account has the original numbers :slight_smile:

On MT4 accounts, AVATrade offers maximum allowable leverage of 400:1, which corresponds to margin of 0.25% (¼ of 1% of the notional value of your trade).

Therefore, on a EUR/USD trade with a notional size of 0.01 lot (1,000 units of EUR/USD),
the notional value of your position would be $1,169.20 (assuming your account currency is USD, and given the current price of EUR/USD = 1.1692).

And margin on this position would be $2.92 (that’s ¼ of 1% of the notional value).