MACD line missing?

Hi,
I’m currently studying the BabyPips School pages here regarding MACD indicators.

When I plot the same MACD as on the page I only have a sgnal line and a histogram (see above), whereas the one on the school page has another line?
Is this down to my MT4 platform’s capabilities do you think (Oanda) or can the MACD line still be interpreted with just the signal line and the histogram?

Cheers,
Simon

It can for [I][U]some[/U][/I] purposes, but not for others.

The histogram displays the difference between the two lines (one of which, as you rightly say, is missing from the chart you’ve shown).

So if you wanted to look, for example, at which of the MACD’s two lines was above the other, or whether they had crossed (“crossing the midline”), you could do that with the just the histogram, even taking away the remaining line as well.

If, on the other hand, you wanted to know whether [U]each[/U] line was above or below the midline, then you’d need both the lines to be shown.

I didn’t know that Oanda’s MT4 showed an MACD like this (I’ve never used it - maybe you can override that and change it, if you need to?). Their FxTrade interface presents it differently (and better, in my opinion).

[B]301 Moved Permanently