Mainstreet to Millionaire EA

I was able to write my first EA that actually turned a profit in back testing. I am a price action trader so I don’t spend a whole lot of time looking at indicators, but that doesn’t mean that indicator rule based systems don’t work. I have tried to write a bunch of different rule based eaS that didn’t work very well. Last Friday it hit me about what would make a good EA, then on Sunday night I spent 2-3 hours programming it and testing it. The EA was back tested on the EURUSD from January 1st 2009 - January 1st 2013.

It’s pretty raw right now and here are a few things it’s still missing

1. It doesn’t open short positions
  2. It trades a fixed lot size, I want it to trade a % of account so it can compound it’s winnings
  3. The SL and TP are hard coded, I want the SL and TP levels to adjust dynamically to help winners run longer and losers get cut shorter.

I don’t plan on laying out all of the rules and code here but I am brand new to using MT4 other than writing MQL4 code, and doing any sort of demo testing. I would like to finish up the code so that it is working as good as possible and then run it on a demo and post the results on myfxbook. Right now it does about 3.25 trades per month, 50% win rate and each trade is a hard set 1:2 RR. I think finishing up the above 3 items will probable double the amount of trades it can take, and boost the RR and win rate. I figure if this is what I can come up with in 2 hours, some serious amount of time spent on it could really boost it’s success. The trades it takes are held for up to a couple days, so it doesn’t suffer the same issues as EA scalpers where and spread and slippage shouldn’t hugely affect the real results from the back test.

This could be traded by hand and probably with better results if done by an experienced trader, but I am very pleased with the results of it as an automated trader.